Shaw Education Trust believe in transparency and accountability within our academies and between each Academy and the Trust. The Board will provide support and challenge as required, with the aim of enabling each Academy to work towards earned autonomy.

Local governance and accountability is secured through our system of Academy Councils, with the Trust Board retaining overall legal control of its academies in line with Department for Education and Education Funding Agency expectations.

Information regarding Shaw Education Trust’s Board of Trustees can be viewed here.

For more information, the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation (Delegated Accountability Framework) can be viewed here.

The Shaw Education Trust has put in place an IEB to oversee the strategic governance activities at Kidsgrove Secondary School and Kidsgrove Primary School. This replaces the Academy Councils.

The IEB membership is as follows;

Brian Duffy (Chair) - SET Director of Safeguarding & Compliance
Elaine Turner (Vice Chair) - SET Head of Business Partnering
Julie Yarwood - SET Northern Regional Director
Helen Turner - SET Chief Operating Officer
Joanne Knowles – Executive Principal KPS
Lee Nixon – Executive Principal KGS
Steve Frost – Principal KGS (from Sept 2021)
Doreen McNeil – Co-opted Councillor
Nigel Butler – Co-opted Councillor

This IEB was formed in May 2021 and will meet approximately each month.

The Terms of office and declarations of interests can be found on this link.

Additional attendees at selected IEB meetings:

Jo Morgan – SET CEO
Kerry Inscker – SET Director of People & Culture
James Jackson – SET Director of Digital Transformation
Bethanie Weavers – Parent (KGP)
Sara Yates – Parent (KGS)
Sam Fraser – Staff (KGP)
Yvonne Brough – Staff (KGP)
Elaine Beardmore – Staff (KGS)
Lesley Lloyd – Staff (KGS)
Melanie Smith – Clerk to the Board

Click here to view Academies Financial Handbook - September 2020

The Chair of the IEB can be contacted via email at: